Prestigious Schmauss Award for Bernadett Weinzierl


Prof. Dr. Bernadett Weinzierl (University of Vienna) and Prof. Dr. Rajan K. Chakrabary (Washington University, St. Louis) are the two winners of the Schmauss Award 2019.

The prize is named after physicist and meteorologist August Schmauss (1877-1952) and recognizes significant research contributions in the field of atmospheric aerosol science in the preceding 3 years (see also The Schmauss Award is annually awarded to up to two young scientists (under the age of 40) by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF).

Bernadett Weinzierl received the Schmauss Award 2019 for the "Analysis of aerosol long-range transport and aerosol-cloud-interaction by perfecting and performing airplane measurements". The award was conferred during the European Aerosol Conference (EAC) 2019 in Gothenburg, Sweden.



Chair of Committee Alfred Weber (right) hands over the certificate to prize winner Bernadett Weinzierl (middle). On the left: Helmuth Horvath, president of the European Aerosol Assembly (EAA) and of the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF).


Photo credit: Aladár Czitrovszky